hgazette.com, Haverhill, MA

October 17, 2013

Educator of the Year candidates nominated

Winner to be named later this month

By Mike LaBella
Staff Writer

---- — They come from all parts of Haverhill’s school community.

Some lead classes of the city’s youngest students, as they embark on their learning careers.

Others are at the city’s alternative school, where they help children who need specialized learning programs. Others teach in a more traditional setting at Haverhill High School or Nettle Middle School.

But they have one thing in common: They have all been nominated as the city’s Educator of the Year for their commitment to helping students achieve.

The Haverhill YMCA will recognize the efforts of local educators when it holds its fifth annual Educator of the Year awards program Oct. 30 at DiBurro’s function hall.

This is the only event of its kind in Haverhill and is an opportunity to recognize that special teacher or other educator who made a significant difference in the lives of his or her students. All nominees will receive a citation from the city and a nominee award.

Last year’s Educator of the Year was long-time teacher Judy Reilly. A teacher in the Haverhill school system for 50 years, Reilly has taught at Walnut Square School, Hannah Duston School and Smiley School.

This year’s Educator of the Year nominees are:

Jay Schaefer, Haverhill Alternative School

Lois Hartman, Golden Hill School

Julie Carven, Bradford Elementary School

Mike Rossi, Nettle Middle School

Joe Hart, Silver Hill Horace Mann Charter School

Beth Perry, Tilton School

Judy Collins, Pentucket Lake School

Kathleen Flanagan, Pentucket Lake School

Antionetta Diskin, Haverhill High School

Nominees were judged based on their commitment to their profession; going beyond expectations, including encouraging family involvement and leadership opportunities; their contributions to the education of students in Haverhill and their commitment to serving the community through activities such as volunteering.

The event will also honor several people for their commitment to community service: They are: Merrimack Valley Hospital (business), Andrew Herlihy, Haverhill’s community development director (individual) and Sandy Kerwin as volunteer of the year.

The Educator of the Year will be announced on Oct. 30 at 5 p.m. at DiBurro’s function hall.


What: YMCA Educator of the Year event

When: Oct. 30, 5 p.m.

Where: DiBurro’s function hall, Bradford

Cost: Tickets, at $35 each, are available by contacting Tracy Fuller at 978-374-0506 or fullert@northshoreymca.org. Proceeds benefit the Haverhill YMCA’s youth and teen programs as well as quality child care programs.