hgazette.com, Haverhill, MA


January 18, 2012

City's youth wrestlers take home gold

The Haverhill Youth Wrestling team sent 16 wrestlers to the Chelmsford Invitational Youth Wrestling Tournament and had their most successful showing yet.

The wrestlers captured 10 gold medals, five silver medals, and one fourth-place finish at the Jan. 8 event.

Gold medal winners for Haverhill were Nick Tejada, Everett Rickett, Colton Smith, Steven Wise, Tom Pagliarulo, Jake Prescott, Stefan Zarro, Matt Gorham, Reece Millington, and Dylan Chaffee in their respective age groups and weight classes.

Silver medal winners included Hunter Prescott, Brendan Esdale, Tyler McDonald, Shaun Mears, and Dan McDonald. A.J. Zaino finished in fourth place.

Haverhill is on top of the Northeast Regional Division 1 Youth Wrestling League with a 4-0 record. The team has one regular season match left against Melrose, as Haverhill tries to finish undefeated for the second straight season. The team will finish off its season Jan. 22 at Haverhill High with a 12-team league tournament.

Text Only | Photo Reprints

Sports News
Photos of the Week